15 years Biffy Clyro

BeFunky Collage.jpg

When I started this post, way back in 2016, I hadn’t seen the band perform live yet. In the meantime, I went to 2 concerts and 1 festival where they were performing. They really throw themselves on stage and that energy can be felt in the audience. For me personally, the first song I ever heard was “Who’s got a match” from the album “Puzzle” because it was being played on BBC Radio 1 at the time. This started my discovery and following of Biffy Clyro. When looking at the pictures from way back comparing their look till now they really started to look like a rock band. This might be because the older pictures look like 15year old selfies and not professional at all.

Blackened Sky

For the first three albums, it’s hard for me to choose since the music on those albums is a bit too far from my bed. I will do my best, but real choices favorite songs will only start at Puzzle.  Since choosing takes some time, I had to listen to this album again. It’s been a while since I don’t often listen to it. I came to the conclusion that I do like “57”:

The sun shone in, the glint in your eye
Your beautiful face, your beautiful face
I held her tight, close to my heart
I didn’t know it would break, I didn’t know it would break

 

The Vertigo of Bliss

After a few times, skipping through the album I finally got to one song that had lyrics that I liked enough to list here. Yes, I’m not a fan of this album. Some people might like this type of music but up till now, it hasn’t been my cup of tea. I chose for “With aplomb”:

Fix my new memory with a cold naked stare
chew up the words but with floods beware
Fondness can escalate beyond my repair
chance is the fiction will orchestrate despair

Infinity Land

I only found a favorite song of this album due to a concert of Biffy Clyro I saw on BBC Three once. The song has such a strong performance that I was wondering what this song was and I just wanted to know. The song I’m talking about is “Glitter and Trauma” and yes, it’s the first single off this album (but honestly the only song I really like on this album).

Your potential is underused,
Your skin will break
Into jigsaw shaped pieces of meat,
You’ll fall apart.

Puzzle

As the first ever song I heard by Biffy Clyro is on this album, you might think that I would choose this one but no, I choose two other songs on this album. The first one is the song that spoke to me from the first time I heard it. I’m talking about “Folding Stars”:

In a bedroom with no windows or doors
All the happy people are crying
You can’t hold a gaze for a second or two
It always ends in total darkness

But then there is a second song, “Machines”, which only got on my radar when I started listening to the albums while I was preparing to go to Pukkelpop last summer:

Crazy as it sounds you won’t feel as low as you feel right now
At least that’s what I’ve been told by everyone
I whisper empty sounds in your ear and hope that you won’t let go
Take the pieces and build them skywards

Only Revolutions

This is the first album which had so many songs on it that were singles, that it starts to get hard to choose one. I did my best and although “Many of Horror” is a very strong song – for me, it’s about abuse, I chose “God and Satan” because it’s a dilemma I’ve had in the past when doubting my religion and where it stand on the “goodness scale”

I talk to God as much as I talk to Satan ’cause I want to hear both sides
Does that make me cynical
There are no miracles
And this is no miraculous life

Opposites

Choosing only one song from the album Opposites is hard, but I’m going for the one with the video clip that was for me the most beautiful one. So I’m choosing the song “Opposite”:

Everyone is beginning to breathe as I break down
You are in love with a shadow that won’t come back

Ellipsis

The latest album “Ellipses” was released in the beginning of the summer of 2016. Since I was going to Pukkelpop, I had to start listening to the new songs right away so I would be able to sing along. It’s one of those albums that is filled with fantastic songs and choosing one is not simple, but in this case, I choose “Howl”:

There’s no return and there’s no-one to call
I picked a phone connected to the gods
The stitches burst but don’t produce a scar
Why can’t I see this time what’s done is done?

Leave a Reply

