Now You See Me 2

BeFunky Collage

A few years back, I went to see the first film in this series when there were promo days at the cinema. It was the best thing on at the cinema at that time. I still remember being in awe of all the tricks they did and the plot twist at the end.

When I saw there was a sequel coming out, I was happy to go see it and be transported to the magic/illusionist world again. (It doesn’t hurt that Marc Ruffalo, Dave Franco and Jesse Eisenberg are in it)

I don’t know what the reason was to replace the female horseman in the film. Isla Fisher did it in the first one, now she has been replaced by Lizzy Caplan. They made it one flow that it’s not the same character and just another female character that gets chosen to be the forth and female horseman.

Although I didn’t think it was as good as the first one, they did make a very good sequel (knowing most sequels suck, this one is better than a sucky sequel).

Let me talk magic here. The illusions that are done in this film are once again amazing. I love the fact that they play around with common magic and real illusions. I also love that for certain of the illusions (con man illusions as I call them) they give the explanation. Now I really want to know how the big rain reversal illusion is done. Is it purely strobe light? It was slightly explained but not fully, but it was cool.

If you’ve seen the first film, I would recommend you see this one too. And I kind of hope that they make another film in this series.

Leave a Reply

