10 years Paolo Nutini

BeFunky Collage.jpgI was introduced to Paolo’s music by a colleague – who knew I loved discovering new music.  I’m honest that I wasn’t immediately wild about it – it took a few times listening to that first album – These Streets – before I really started liking the songs. Today marks the tenth anniversary of that first album – although officially he was already signed to the record company a year earlier. With only three albums in ten years – the songs on all three albums are of a certain quality.

As I did earlier this year with Arctic Monkeys, I’m going to go through each album – tell you which are my favorite song(s) on it and a catching lyrics to go with it.

These Streets

It might seem cliché, the song I’ve chosen from the first album but it’s “New Shoes” – but this is a song that will always lift my mood.

Hey, I put some new shoes on,
And suddenly everything is right,
I said, hey, I put some new shoes on and everybody’s smiling,
It’s so inviting,
Oh, short on money,
But long on time,
Slowly strolling in the sweet sunshine,
And I’m running late,
And I don’t need an excuse,
‘Cause I’m wearing my brand new shoes.

Sunny Side Up

Second album, weirdly I only discovered after I found out he had made his third album. Bad of me not keeping up with the music, but that happens sometimes. The song I like the most at this moment of this album is “Coming up easy” with lyrical gems like:

Oh, you kiss my lips again and again and again
And then again and then we watched the sun coming up easy
While the rain came tumbling down
And it washed our bodies so cleanly
We could see them rise up off of the cold, cold ground.

Caustic Love

The last album is the easiest for me to chose a song from, ever sing I heard “Iron Sky” it just stuck in my mind – the text is haunting but the sample taken from The Great Dictator (film by Charlie Chaplin) that have been put in the middle of the song, just enhance the mood the song brings. The part of the lyrics I chose is the next:

Oh, that’s life
Left dripping down the walls
Of a dream that cannot breathe
In this harsh reality
Mass confusion spoon fed to the blind
Serves now to define our cold society

From which we’ll rise over love,
Over hate,
Through this iron sky,
That’s fast becoming our minds.
Over fear and into freedom.

I regret not having seen him live on stage, only recordings of his performances. I need to change that as soon as he’s touring again!

 

Leave a Reply

