Birthday quotes

This year, for my birthday, I devised a plan to tweet a quote about age every hour on the hour. Thank good for tools that make it possible to program tweets in advance. Here is the list of all the quotes I used. I loved looking through a lot of quotes about age, aging and getting older and these were just the ones that made the cut

Growing old is no more than a bad habit which a busy person has no time to form.
Andre Maurois

Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.
Mark Twain

Youth is the gift of nature, but age is a work of art.
Stanislaw Jerzy Lec

Old age is the most unexpected of all the things that can happen to a man.
James Thurber

As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
Andre Carnegie

Adults are obsolete children.
Dr Seuss

I’m happy to report that my inner child is still ageless.
James Broughton

If you’re old, don’t try to change yourself, change your environment.
B. F. Skinner

Old age comes on suddenly, and not gradually as is thought.
Emily Dickinson

Aging is not lost youth but a new stage of opportunity and strength.
Betty Friedan

You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.
George Burns

An archaeologist is the best husband a woman can have. The older she gets the more interested he is in her.
Agatha Christie

Age is not important unless you’re a cheese.
Helen Hayes

I think your whole life shows in your face and you should be proud of that.
Lauren Bacall

I’m not interested in age. People who tell me their age are silly. You’re as old as you feel. Henri Frederic Amiel

I don’t feel old. I don’t feel anything till noon. That’s when it’s time for my nap.
Bob Hope

Wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been.
Mark Twain

A diplomat is a man who always remembers a woman’s birthday but never remembers her age.
Robert Frost

Youth is the best time to be rich, and the best time to be poor.
Euripides

Age considers; youth ventures.
Rabindranath Tagore

After thirty, a body has a mind of its own.
Bette Midler

As we grow older, our bodies get shorter and our anecdotes longer.
Robert Quillen

Old age is an excellent time for outrage. My goal is to say or do at least one outrageous thing every week.
Louis Kronenberger

We’ve put more effort into helping folks reach old age than into helping them enjoy it.
Frank A. Clark

Leave a Reply

