Star Wars 7: The Force Awakens

I have been watching the previous 6 installments of this series from somewhere in the summer. It took me some time since I have had a busy year.  This year was the first time that I saw the films I -III and I still stick to it, if you don’t have to see them don’t see them (I thought they were kinda boring and the best part is when Obi Wan leaves Anakin deathly wounded in the lava pits. Up till this summer I was pure – I had only seen IV – VI. But since VII is directed by J.J. Abrams and that he is one of my most liked directors around (I have to say something like: Revolution and the Star Trek remakes here).

BeFunky Collage.jpg

So expectations were high, the trailer has been teasing us for ages, old familiars are back like Han Solo, Leia and Chewbacca.

People who haven’t seen it, please don’t read further, because of spoilers!

What can I say, J.J. and this new installment in the saga didn’t disappoint. Rey is a strong, independent woman who doesn’t need the help of a man. Hilarious when she and Finn are running from the attack by the first order, you see has the upper hand, she is the strong one. Finn, on the other hand, escaped from being a stormtrooper, the indoctrination didn’t work on him completely.  The old familiars don’t disappoint, there’s Leia, Han, Chewie, C3PO and R2-D2, and really everyone who saw the films as a kid really loved seeing them again.

As I’m writing this, I’m still very much unwinding from seeing the film. It was really an emotional rollercoaster, seeing those old familiars again, getting to know the new characters, some very strong acting and writing.

We encounter a new player on the dark side, Kylo Ren, and well he seems to be the son of Han and Leia, following his grandfather to the dark side. He has some problems with the dark side, since he still has some good in him. I think he completely crossed over during this film when -SPOILER- he kills his father on a bridge. What do they have with bridges and patricide in this saga!

I know at the moment I’m forgetting so many pivotal points and plot parts, maybe I will need to see it a few times more for it all to sink in.

Let’s talk cameo’s and people that are so hard to recognize, after watching the film I had to go and see who was who. There was an unrecognizable Simon Peg, Andy Sirkis (hologram dark lord),  Gwendolin e Christie as the female stormtrooper silver leader,  like a tradition, Warwick Davis is in it, Thomas Brodie-Sangster as a First Order Officer. But then there are also faces that were either, oh him or where do I know him from – being Greg Grunberg and Ken Leung for me.

To finish, I can only say that I had so much fun going to see it. For those that didn’t bother stopping where I announced the spoilers that might come, go see it NOW!

Leave a Reply

